Stitch Fix #3 – June 2016

IMG_1478When it comes to Stitch Fix, I’m a quarterly girl. That’s why you don’t see a box review every month. I get a box each season and for me (and our finances), that’s enough.

In case you’re curious, here’s what I kept form my first and second fixes. Last month I also experimented with Golden Tote.

But back to my first love…Stitch Fix.

For my third fix, I was pretty specific. I asked my stylist for clothes for our up-coming trip to the Mediterranean. What??? You didn’t know we were going on a Mediterranean cruise??? You should check out this post and this post.

IMG_1481

So now to the good stuff…what was in my THIRD box?

Dear John – Finnegan Roll Cuff Chino Short – $58

When I peaked at my shipment (yes, I’m one of THOSE people) I was a little thrown by these shorts. They looked like they were pale pink. But once I actually saw them in person I realized they were bright pink and white striped.

IMG_1489

Bottom line, both me (and hubs) surprisingly LOVED them. Oh, and they fit like a dream – perfect length and very comfy.

IMG_1488

However, I just don’t need another pair of shorts right now. I really only need 2 or 3 pairs for my current lifestyle, and I’m close to triple that number. Also, you may (or may not) be surprised to learn that I won’t be wearing shorts that often on our vacation. Even though it will be HOT, apparently they don’t really do shorts in Europe. So there’s that.

Status: Returned

 

Market & Spruce – Sam Hi-Lo Short Sleeve Tee – $44

IMG_1499

Ok, so I know what you’re thinking because I thought it too. $44 for a grey t-shirt!?!?! You have GOT to be kidding me Stitch Fix!!! Well, spoiler alert: I KEPT it! I know, I know, I know! Who have I become? Well, I’ll tell you – someone with the most versatile, comfortable shirt in the whole world, that’s who!

IMG_1498

Ok, so before you get all judgy, I did a little research via a Stitch Fix buy/sell/trade Facebook group…yeah, I’m a part of one of those. Just stop with the judgy eyes already.

IMG_1500

So, here’s the deal, in the world of Stitch Fix, this shirt is ALL THE RAGE! Everyone wants it and those who start the “$44 for a t-shirt??” post are verbally slashed to the point of death and then shunned. So I was quietly skeptical. Then I tried it on. Of course I loved it, and then somehow I just decided to bite the bullet and pay the astronomical price.

BEST. DECISION. EVER. I have ZERO regrets! I have already worn this more times then I can count. It goes with basically everything and it’s so easy to dress up or down. Dear Sam Hi-Lo Tee, I’m a believer!

Status: Kept

 

Skies are Blue – Keagan Knit Dress – $68

When we peaked (and I say “we” because I took screenshots on my phone of all the items and texted them to Sean and basically forced him to engage in dialog about them) we were positive this dress was a keeper! Love at first sight!

Then I tried it on, and we were both like, “hmm…”

IMG_1503

IMG_1511

So here’s the thing, it’s SUPER soft, love the pattern, colors, and cutout in the back. BUT the dress was too short and too tight on my mid section. I was tugging at it all through the photo shoot and at the same time trying to convince myself I really did love it. I even tried it on with the big, floppy vacation hat I told you about.

IMG_1509

Although this dress could pass as a vacation dress, it would be of no other use because it’s a smidge too short for work. I just couldn’t justify it, and I didn’t really enjoy wearing it.

Status: Returned

 

Papermoon – Sheydon Trim Detail Blouse – $44

IMG_1490

IMG_1493

Not much to say about this blouse. It was just kind of meh. You know? Nothing special. Didn’t hate it, but didn’t love it. Plus, I just bought a navy blouse that is very similar. So really no need for this one.

Status: Returned

 

Pixley – Annette Printed Tulip Hem Maxi Skirt – $58

IMG_1496

When I peeked, I wasn’t crazy about the pattern of this skirt and I was unsure about the cut. When I tried it on I was certain I didn’t like the pattern but I LOVED the cut. Check out a close up of this pattern, doesn’t it look like a woman screaming?

IMG_1494

Still, I almost kept it just because at the time it was the closest thing to perfect I had found for our day at the Vatican. If you don’t know, the Vatican has some pretty strict rules. Your knees and shoulders have to be covered, which for females is challenging to do without looking like a Season 1 Duggar, fundamentalist Mormon, or a fashionista who is 5 minutes away from heat stroke.

In the end, I’m glad I passed on the screaming woman skirt, because I did find the perfect Vatican dress a few weeks later at TJ Maxx – for half the price of course. Keep your eye out for a glimpse of that dress in a future post.

This skirt taught me to embrace the tulip hem, and to not settle for good when you have over a month left to find great.

Status: Returned

 

So there you go, my third box.

Even though I only kept one thing, I was really happy! This was by FAR the most personalized box I’ve received yet.

Also, if you’re considering signing up for Stitch Fix, I would LOVE it if you used my referral link! If you do, I get $25 off my next order!

Leave a Reply

